Databases

Books & Readers' Advisory

Access Maryland's Digital eLibrary Consortium to borrow ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines! Use the Libby app by OverDrive to read on your phone or tablet. You can even send and read your borrowed ebooks to your Kindle ereader!

Your public library at your fingertips. Anytime. Anywhere. Borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! With no waiting, titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later.

Scholastic BookFlix pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. By linking fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.

Find new books to read, love and explore. This resource offers endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Key features include browse-able menus and visual search technology.

A reader's advisory resource that provides access to recommendations, series information, awards lists, and so much more to help you pick your next great read (or audiobook)!

Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons, and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".

Business

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Business. Key subjects include all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of the Communications field. Key subjects include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

Search academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. Emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.

Small Business Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs. The database offers content that includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure. Key subjects include the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Insurance and Liability. Key subjects include labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

Professional Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content for educators. The database offers balanced coverage for any professional educator or user interested in professional development.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Vocations and Careers. Key subjects include researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.

Education

Udemy is an online learning platform that provides video-based learning courses in areas such as business, technology, software, and personal development.

Find scholarly journals and selected general interest titles in this index designed for student research. Vocational-technical titles used by community college students are also included.

Whether you are going back to school, switching jobs, or just want to brush up on an academic skill, our adult learning center is here to help. Our live coaches will help you write a winning resume, learn Microsoft Office, pass the GED, and more!

Search academic journals, reports, and reference tools with a focus on the field of Education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.

Gale in Context: Elementary is continuously updated and provides indexed, searchable content along with more than 16,600 images, over 1,700 charts and graphs, and more than 600 high-quality educational videos are provided from resources including books, magazines, and news periodicals.

Learn at your own pace. Choose from hundreds of online, six-week courses with expert online instruction and live interaction. Available now to our library cardholders. What will you learn?

HelpNow by BrainFuse is a comprehensive suite of tutoring services designed for a range of academic needs; whether it’s tackling a tough homework problem, learning an academic skill, or writing a term paper. Adults can also receive live online help from our trained adult education specialists in areas such as US Citizenship testing, resume and cover letter writing assistance, and core subject education.

Find authoritative multimedia resources with an emphasis on primary sources such as newspapers. Key sources include a strong collection of images, videos, and archival videos.

Find authoritative periodical information on a wide variety of research topics. Key subjects include current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

An online language-learning system teaching conversational skills with four areas of learning: vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation, and culture. Over 72 languages are available to English speakers and over 21 modules are available to English-as-a-second-language (ESL) learners.

Find reference content developed specifically for Middle School students (children ages 11-14). Key subjects include literature, science, social studies, and history.

Genealogy

Over 1.2 billion records in over 3,000 databases. A source for conducting genealogical and local history research. Included are digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 on, The American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, and more.

Instead of spending hours scanning books for mentions of a family name, users can turn to Genealogy Connect for a one-stop search across multiple volumes, identifying connections and enriching family history.

ProQuest Information and Learning's HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Beginning or professional genealogists can now use this powerful online library, with original page images for all documents, from the convenience of their home or at the library.

Hobbies

Creativebug has thousands of online videos and award-winning art and craft classes taught by recognized design and art experts. It is an excellent resource for anyone looking to start a new hobby or continue mastering one they already know!

Find reliable automotive help online 24/7 through Chilton Library, trusted by automotive enthusiasts and professionals for more than 100 years.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of the Culinary Arts. Key subjects include thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Fine Arts and Music. Key subjects include drama, music, art history, and film-making.

Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focused on both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. The database offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Home Improvement. Key subjects include architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.

Other

Find current and authoritative content on Agriculture covering topics from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of the field of Criminal Justice. Key subjects include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Diversity Studies. Key subjects include cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Access a number of resources provided by EBSCO, offering a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Environmental Studies and Policy. Key features include diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

This resource provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents on a variety of general and specific topics. Also includes a number of images, maps, and more.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Gender Studies. Key subjects include gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Search a wide variety of books, reference books, images, audio files and videos. Key resources include more than 14,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, along with over 163,000 images, 6,400 audio files, and 1.3 million videos.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Information Science and Library Issues. Key subjects include coverage of topics including information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Military and Intelligence. Key subjects include governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Find authoritative periodical information in this full-text newspaper index. Key features include searching articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields.

A comprehensive news collection of issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes the Dorchester Star.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Nursing and Allied Health. Key subjects include all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.

Find authoritative periodical information on Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine. Key subjects include a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Find authoritative periodical information on Pop Culture. Key subjects include useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Psychology. Key subjects include the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of Religion and Philosophy. Key features include balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of General Science. Key subjects include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Access ebook editions of Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (2003), Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations (2012 and 2017), and Worldmark Encyclopedia of of States (2016).

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of U.S. History. Key subjects include coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of War and Terrorism. Key features include balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.

Find authoritative periodical information on all aspects of World History. Key subjects include balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.